Random Member

qayyum khan77
Your Favorite GSM Service ?

Total Members

3135 registered
0 today
0 yesterday
0 this week
0 this month
Inquiry against MMA leaders reopened

ATTOCK: Inquiry on an FIR registered against 20 central leaders of the Mutahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA), including President Qazi Hussain Ahmad and Maulana Fazalur Rahman, was re- opened after a lapse of 14 months, on the directives of the Central Police Officer (CPO), Lahore, it has been learnt.

Reliable sources said on Monday that the CPO has appointed Rawalpindi senior traffic officer, SP Sabir Hussain, as the inquiry officer and directed him to complete the inquiry and submit a report urgently.

All concerned police officers, including former DSP Attock police circle, Chaudhry Abdul Ghaffar (now DSP Hazro), DSP legal Chaudhry Yaqoob, former in charge security branch Attock district police inspector Khalil (now retired) and former SHO Attock city police station, inspector Raja Sabir Hussain (now retried), had were also directed to appear before the inquiry officer on Monday to record statements, the sources added.

SP Hussain was not available for comments despite repeated attempts to contact him.

On July 17, 2006, the Attock city police station had registered an FIR (No 205), under 16-MPO, against 20 MMA leaders on the charge of making derogatory remarks against President Gen Pervez Musharraf and criticizing the government policies at a public meeting at the Railway Stadium, Attock city, in connection with MMA’s country-wide public contact movement.

However, the Attock police withdrew the case against the MMA leadership on July 23, 2006 on strict government orders, as the police had not obtained the consent of senior government officials.

Now, after the passage of over 14 months, the prime minister’s secretariat and other high government quarters have demanded a detailed report of the case, along with all relevant record, from the Attock district police, the sources added.

The MMA leaders against whom the FIR was registered were: president MMA Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Maulana Fazalur Rehman, MNA Liaquat Baloch, MNA Hafiz Hussain Ahmed, MNA Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Hyderi, MNA Dr Abul Khair Muhammad Zubair, MNA Maulana Muhammad Khan Shirani, MNA Maulana Noor Muhammad, MNA Mian Muhammad Aslam, MNA Muhammad Usman Khan, Qari Sher Afzal, Qari Attiqur Rehman, Qari Zawar Bahudar, Maulana Abdul Jalil Naqvi, Pir Aftab Ahmed, Syed Shabeer Ahmed Hashmi, Maulana Nawabul Hasan, Maulana Abdul Salam, Qari Sher Zaman and Maulana Zahid Mehmood Noorani.

16-09-2007 11:27 Online News
Quote this article in websiteFavouredPrintSend to friendRelated articlesSave this to del.icio.us
This entry was posted on 16-09-2007 11:27. . . . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
This article was favoured 164 time. . . . You can leave a comment. . . .
Last update on 28-12-2008 12:57
Views: 3276
Users' Comments (0)RSS feed comment
Average user rating
   (0 vote)
Only registered users can comment an article. Please login or register.

No comment posted

< Prev   Next >